Monday, December 8, 2008

I'm just a personal kinda girl

Good morning! (Afternoon edition)
Okay, so this morning I learned something about myself. I take things very personal and sometimes too personal. I have been told this by others before, but just recently I was told this by a close friend and still didn't get it. But thanks to someone who understood and could break it down for me (I can be a little slow on the way up the hill), I cannot take everything to heart. Other people are going to feel, think and believe whatever it is that they will. I do not have to internalize and make it my issue. I learned that I do this because I love people. I love talking, meeting and learning about them and in turn I want them to like me too. Mmmm...

I paused on that thought. Why? Because, well...wow. That was interesting for me. I feel like I just played back every conversation where I've been in a discussion about something and the other person has said to me, "Why are you taking this so personally?" and my response has been, "I do because this is a personal relationship, not a business deal and I don't understand what you mean." But now, I realize that I want to liked and just because someone does not agree does not mean they do not like you. I feel weird writing this because I believe I knew that, but I didn't realize how much I take relationships to heart.

So now I'm learning to let it roll off my back like water to a duck.

Peace, Detroit Luv & Soooooul!